Week One is in the Books, and the B1G is Rolling (for the most part.)

Wow, what an opening weekend of college football. So many good game and we’re just getting started. Let’s take a look at how the B1G did and how I did with my Week #1 picks…

  • Minnesota @ UNLV – I thought the Golphers would lose this evenly matched game only because of their road history, and I was wrong.  0-1.
  • Michigan State vs. Boise State –  I didn’t call this one because I never pick MSU games, but MSU won and that’s always the best news. Anyway, still 0-1.
  • Northwestern vs. Syracuse – I picked the Wildcats by 10 and it was the Wildcats by one, so I missed on the actual score but called it right. 1-1.
  • Illinois vs. Western Michigan – I said the Illini by 10 and it was the Illini by 17, close enough. 2-1.
  • Ohio State vs. Miami (Ohio) – I called the Buckeyes by 14 and Ohio State won by a mere 46. Still I get the W, 3-1.
  • Penn State vs. Ohio – I picked Ohio by three and it was Ohio by 10. 4-1.
  • Iowa vs. Northern Illinois – I went with the Hawkeyes by 10 and they won by only one. 5-1
  • Nebraska vs. Southern Miss – I took the Huskers by seven and it ended up being Nebraska by 29. 6-1.
  • Purdue vs. Eastern Kentucky – I went with the Boilermakers by 21 and it was the Boilermakers by 42. 7-1.
  • Wisconsin vs. Northern Iowa – I made fun of Bucky for this non-con game and just said they would win, but it was a close 26-21. 8-1.
  • Michigan vs. Alabama – I predicted three picks in the first half and the Crimson Tide by 17, it was only two but Michigan lost by 27. 9-1.
  • Indiana vs. Indiana State – I took the Hoosier by 10 and it was the Hoosier by 7. 10-1.

So I went 10-1. Not bad, but the non-conference season should be pretty easy to pick.

Some teams took on formidable opponents like Michigan State, Northwestern, Penn State and Michigan (none more than Michigan), and and of those four Northwestern and Michigan State came away victorious. Maybe Michigan was a little over-hyped? But that always is the case, right. Anyway, what a great weekend of college football. I loved it. Next week is a little less exciting with your more typical non-con cakewalk games, but were in the season and the B1G is rolling.

Go Green!

Leave a comment